Tell Politicians

Please Write to or Email your State & Federal Government Representatives…
…even if you have never done it before!

The more communications a Government office receives, the more strongly they can act. It is up to us to give our representatives enough ammunition to fight for us. Remember, a personally written and posted letter from a constituent receives the highest respect when it comes to communicating with Government representatives.

Here are some ideas you can use when writing a letter or email to your local MP’s…
  • I ask you to help keep as much public open space as possible on the CSIRO site in Highett for conservation and relaxation when it is sold, possibly this year.
  • This is a special opportunity for Highett, surrounding suburbs and far beyond, as the site contains the unique Highett Grass Woodland and is ideally suited for passive recreation.  Since early last century it has succumbed to external pressures, but it still has mature Yellow Box eucalypts, River Red Gums and many smaller plants.  In 2004 the Federal Government committed to preserving some of it in the longer term. Since then CSIRO began regenerating the vegetation with great results, but clearly much more is possible.
  • The entire 3 hectares could be restored for conservation and some passive recreation with another hectare on the site used for residents of the likely high-density development and to buffer the neighbours from the visual impact. Both areas would benefit the native wildlife which is diminishing from lack of good habitat.
  • Open Space is much needed for relaxation in peaceful surrounds, especially with intensive residential development coming to the CSIRO site and around Southland
  • The Federal Government will be deciding the conditions of sale, including indications of how much open space should remain and the State Government will be deciding the Planning parameters and zoning for the site.


Write to OR Email FEDERAL MPs

Goldstein (Liberal)
The Hon Andrew Robb AO MP
368 Centre Road,
Bentleigh, Vic 3204
Email: The Hon Andrew Robb MP
Hotham (ALP)
The Hon Simon Crean MP
PO Box 5295,
Clayton, Vic 3168
Email: The Hon Simon Crean MP
Isaacs (ALP)
The Hon Mark Dreyfus QC, MP
Shop No. 6, Parkmore Shopping Centre
Cheltenham Road
Keysborough Vic 3173
Email: The Hon Mark Dreyfus QC MP 

Use the Web contact form at:

Melbourne Ports
Mr Michael Danby MP
PO Box 2086,
St Kilda West Vic 3182
Email: Mr Michael Danby MP



Write to OR Email Members of the STATE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY (local members)

If not on list use – go to the yellow panel on the right of the page ie.(Enter Suburb or Postcode)

Bentleigh (Liberal)
Ms Elizabeth Miller
379 Centre Road, Bentleigh 3204
Email: Ms Elizabeth Miller
Brighton (Liberal)
Hon Louise Asher
Ground Floor, 228-230 Bay Street, Brighton, 3186
Email: Hon Louise Asher
Caulfield (ALP)
Mr David Southwick
Suite 1, 193 Balaclava Road, Caulfield North 3161
Email: Mr David Southwick
Mordialloc (Liberal)
Ms Lorraine Wreford
PO Box 233, Southland Centre, 3192
Email: Ms Lorraine Wreford
Sandringham (Liberal)
Murray Thompson
PO Box 139, Sandringham 3191
Email: Murray Thompson


Southern Metropolitan Region  (Bentleigh, Brighton, Caulfield, Sandringham….)

Mrs Andrea Coote (Liberal)
306 Bay Street,
Port Melbourne, 3207
Email: Mrs Andrea Coote
Hon David Davis (Liberal)
Suite 4, 976 Riversdale Road,
Surrey Hills 3127
Email: Hon David Davis
Mr John Lenders (ALP)
Level 2, 55 St Andrews Place,
Melbourne 3002
Email: Mr John Lenders
Sue Pennicuik (Greens)
206 Bay Street,
Brighton 3186
Email: Sue Pennicuik
Georgie Crozier (Liberal)
Shops 1 & 2, 667-669 Glenhuntly Road,
Caulfield 3162
Email: Georgie Crozier


South-Eastern Metropolitan Region (Mordialloc….)

Hon Gordon Kenneth Rich-Phillips (Liberal)
1/31 Princes Highway,
Dandenong 3175
Email: Hon Gordon Kenneth Rich-Phillips
Mr Gavin Jennings (ALP)
517A Princes Highway,
Noble Park 3174
Email: Mr Gavin Jennings
Mrs Inga Peulich (Liberal)
PO Box 35,
Chelsea, 3196
Email: Mrs Inga Peulich
Mr Adem Somyurek (ALP)
Unit 2, 24 Langhorne Street,
Dandenong 3175
Email: Mr Adem Somyurek
Mr Lee Tarlamis (ALP)
157a Sladen Street,
Cranbourne, 3977
Email: Mr Lee Tarlamis



It is best to choose who you write to and you can see their home pages via:

Note: Three are retiring at the end of June.  The new Victorian Senators from 1.7.2011 will be:
Richard di Natale (Greens), John Madigan (DLP) and Bridget McKenzie (National), see:


Senator the Hon Kim Carr (ALP)
Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research (includes CSIRO) 

62 Lygon Street
Carlton South Vic 3053

Email: Senator the Hon Kim Carr
Senator the Hon Jacinta Collins (ALP) 

Ground Floor
1013 Whitehorse Road
Box Hill Vic 3128

Contact via web contact form:
Senator the Hon Stephen Conroy (ALP)
Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy.
Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate.

Suite 1B, 494 High Street
Epping Vic 3076

Email: Senator the Hon Stephen Conroy
Senator the Hon David Feeney (ALP)
Parliamentary Secretary for Defence 

240 Sydney Road
Coburg Vic 3058

Contact via web contact form:
Senator Steve Fielding (Family First)
– retiring 30.6.2011 

255 Blackburn Road
Mount Waverley Vic 3149

Email: Senator Steve Fielding
Senator Mitch Fifield (Liberal) 

42 Florence Street
Mentone Vic 3194

Contact via web contact form:
Senator Helen Kroger (Liberal) 

PO Box 8154
Burwood East Vic 3151

Contact via web contact form:
Senator Julian McGauran (Liberal)
– retiring 30.6.2011 

Suite 17, Collins Place
45 Collins Street
Melbourne Vic 3000

Contact via web contact form:
Senator Gavin Marshall (ALP) 

376 Victoria Street
North Melbourne Vic 3051

Email: Senator Gavin Marshall
Senator the Hon Michael Ronaldson (Liberal) 

Level 17
90 Collins Street
Melbourne Vic 3000

Contact via web contact form:
Senator Scott Ryan (Liberal) 

PO Box 556
Moonee Ponds Vic 3039

Contact via web contact form:
Senator the Hon Judith Troeth (Liberal)
– retiring 30.6.2011 

Level 9
601 Bourke Street
Melbourne Vic 3000

Contact via web contact form:


Note: Email Addresses are Protected from Email Robots.